Quick Answer: What Is 7th Constitution Of India?

How many Indian Constitution are there?

At its enactment, it had 395 articles in 22 parts and 8 schedules.

At about 145,000 words, it is the second-longest active constitution—after the Constitution of Alabama—in the world.

The constitution has a preamble and 470 articles, which are grouped into 25 parts..

What 3 things does the Constitution do?

The Constitution has three main functions. First it creates a national government consisting of a legislative, an executive, and a judicial branch, with a system of checks and balances among the three branches. Second, it divides power between the federal government and the states.

Why Bharat is called India?

The Republic of India has two principal short names in both official and popular English usage, each of which is historically significant, “India” and “Bharat”. … The name “India” is originally derived from the name of the river Sindhu (Indus River) and has been in use in Greek since Herodotus (4th century BCE).

How many articles are there in the Constitution of India in 2020?

The Constitution of India contains 395 articles in 22 parts. It also contains 12 schedules.

Who is the president of India?

Ram Nath KovindIndia/President

What is 7th part of Indian Constitution?

GK – Parts of Indian ConstitutionPartContainsArticlesPart IVAFundamental Duties51APart VThe Union52 to 151Part VIThe States152 to 237Part VIIStates in the B part of the First schedule (repealed by 7th Amendment)22 more rows

What is state list in Indian Constitution?

The State List or List-II is a list of 59 items(after the 101st Constitutional amendment act, 2016,entry number 52 and 55 deleted.) . Initially there were 66 items in the list in Schedule Seven to the Constitution of India. The legislative section is divided into three lists:Union List, State List and Concurrent List.

What is Article 53 1 of the Indian Constitution?

Article 53 Executive power of the Union (1) The executive power of the Union shall be vested in the President and shall be exercised by him either directly or through officers subordinate to him in accordance with this Constitution.

Why is Article 242 repealed?

part c state and such a law would not be construed as a law amending the constitution. article 241 allowed parliament to constitute high courts for the states in part c states. article 242 was a special provision of coorg. … it also repealed article 242 & 243 of the constitution.

Is water a state subject in India?

India is union of States. In the Constitution, water is a matter included in Entry 17 of List-II i.e. State List. … This entry is subject to the provision of Entry 56 of List-I i.e. Union List.

Which comes under concurrent list?

The Concurrent List or List-III (Seventh Schedule) is a list of 52 items (though the last item is numbered 47) given in the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution of India….They are:Education.Forests.Weights & Measures.Protection of Wild Animals and Birds.Administration of Justice.

What is state list give two subject of it?

The State List or List is a list of 61 items in Schedule Seven to the Constitution of India. aIts the list of subjects that only state governments can work on. The 2 subject which come under concurrent list are: Bankruptcy and insolvency, Trust and Trustees.

What residuary powers can exercise it in India?

Residuary powers are those powers which can be made by the parliament only. It is different from 3 lists, union list, state list, and concurrent list. These powers are neither under the legislative powers of the State nor the Union.

What are the 3 lists?

There are three lists i.e. Union List, State List and Concurrent List. (i) Union List It includes subjects of national importance, e.g. defence of the country, foreign affairs, banking, communication and currency.

What are the 7 parts of the Constitution?

The 7 Articles of the US ConstitutionArticle I – The Legislative Branch. The principal mission of the legislative body is to make laws. … Article II – The Executive Branch. … Article III – The Judicial Branch. … Article IV – The States. … Article V – Amendment. … Article VI – Debts, Supremacy, Oaths. … Article VII – Ratification.

Who made Constitution of India?

On 29 August, 1947, the Constituent Assembly set up a Drafting Committee under the Chairmanship of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar to prepare a Draft Constitution for India.

What are 3 parts of the Constitution?

Describes the three parts of the constitution : Preamble, Articles (7) and Amendments (27) and the major Principles of Government Embodied in the Constitution.

What is the Article 15 in Indian Constitution?

Article 15 of the Indian Constitution prohibits discrimination of Indians on basis of religion, race, caste, sex or place of birth.

What are the 7 principles?

The 7 Principles of the Constitution (popular sovereignty, limited government, separation of powers, checks and balances, judicial review, federalism, and republicanism) explained.

What are the features of federalism?

Key features of federalism:There are two or more levels of government.Different tiers of government govern the same citizens, but each tier has its own jurisdiction in specific matters of legislation, taxation and administration.The jurisdictions are specified in the constitution.More items…•

Is education a state subject in India?

As per the constitution of India, school education was originally a state subject —that is, the states had complete authority on deciding policies and implementing them. … This was changed with a constitutional amendment in 1976 so that education now comes in the so-called concurrent list.