Quick Answer: Who Signed The Indian Constitution?

When was the Indian constitution adopted and enforced?

January 26, 1950, is the day the Constitution of India came into effect.

What was until then known as Union of India officially became the Republic of India..

What is the need of the Constitution?

Within states, a constitution defines the principles upon which the state is based, the procedure in which laws are made and by whom. Some constitutions, especially codified constitutions, also act as limiters of state power, by establishing lines which a state’s rulers cannot cross, such as fundamental rights.

When did Simon Commission first came to India?

The Indian Statutory Commission, commonly referred to as the Simon Commission after its chairman Sir John Allsebrook Simon, was sent to India in 1928 (February – March and October 1928 – April 1929) to study potential constitutional reform.

What are the factors which contributed to the making of the Indian Constitution?

The Constitution of India was made after a series of events that led to it’s making: Nationalism arose in people of India, which raised the demand of sovereignty and own Constitution.Draft of Constitution was prepared in 1928 by Motilal Nehru and his companions which reflected the belief and ideology of Indians.More items…•

Who was the first woman to sign the Indian Constitution?

Velayudhan was elected to the Constituent Assembly of India by the Council in 1946. She was the first and only Scheduled Caste woman to be elected to the constituent assembly.

How and why do amendments become part of the Constitution?

Authority to Amend the U.S. Constitution Article V of the United States Constitution outlines basic procedures for constitutional amendment. Congress may submit a proposed constitutional amendment to the states, if the proposed amendment language is approved by a two-thirds vote of both houses.

Who wrote the Constitution of India?

Prem Behari Narain Raizada6. It Was Handwritten by Prem Behari Narain Raizada. The original Constitution of India was handwritten by Prem Behari Narain Raizada in a flowing italic style with beautiful calligraphy. The Constitution was published in Dehradun and photolithographed by the Survey of India.

Who are the 7 members of drafting committee?

The Drafting Committee had seven members: Alladi Krishnaswami Ayyar, N. Gopalaswami; B.R. Ambedkar, K.M Munshi, Mohammad Saadulla, B.L. Mitter and D.P. Khaitan.

Who prepared Indian constitution in 1928?

Motilal NehruIt was prepared by a committee of the All Parties Conference chaired by Motilal Nehru with his son Jawaharlal Nehru acting as a secretary.

Who was not a member of drafting committee?

BR Ambedkar. Its members were N Gopalaswamy Ayyangar, Krishnaswamy Ayyar, Dr. K M Munshi, Syed Mohammad Saadullah, B L Mitter, N Madhava Rau, D P Khaitan, T T Krishnamachari.

Who wrote Nehru report?

Motilal Nehru Report 1928The Motilal Nehru Report 1928 was a report by a committee headed by Pt. Motilal Nehru. This committee was created when Lord Birkenhead, Secretary of State of India asked the Indian leaders to draft a constitution for the country. The report, which demanded a Dominion Status for India was considered by the Congress.

Who first signed the Constitution of India?

Dr Rajendra PrasadIt was first signed by Dr Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India, while the last to sign in was Feroze Gandhi, the president of the Constituent Assembly. Shri Behari shows the first manuscript to Dr. Rajendra Prasad.

How long did it take to prepare the Indian Constitution?

B.R. Ambedkar in the Constitution Assembly. “Looking back on the work of the Constituent Assembly it will now be two years, eleven months and seventeen days since it first met on the 9th of December 1946. During this period the Constituent Assembly has altogether held eleven sessions.

Who drafted Article 370?

Ayyangar was the chief drafter of Article 370 which granted local autonomy to the state of Jammu and Kashmir.