Why Do We Need The Upper House?

Why is it called Upper House and Lower House?

The reference to upper and lower house is a tradition the Australian Parliament borrowed from the British or ‘Westminster’ Parliament.

The British House of Commons is often referred to as the lower house, and the House of Lords is often referred to as the upper house..

What does upper house mean?

The term upper house refers to one of two state legislative chambers in a bicameral legislature. … A state senate normally has fewer members — usually one-half to one-third as many members — as a state assembly or state house of representatives.

Who is more powerful Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha?

The Lok Sabha has certain powers that make it more powerful than the Rajya Sabha. … The Rajya Sabha has no power over such a motion, and hence has no real power over the executive. This is because the Constitution of India has only made the Union Council of ministers responsible to the Lok Sabha, not to the Rajya Sabha.

What is parliament’s two houses called?

Parliament is the supreme legislative body of India. The Indian Parliament comprises of the President and the two Houses – Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People).

What is the difference between upper and lower house Australia?

The House of Representatives is the lower house of the bicameral Parliament of Australia, the upper house being the Senate. Its composition and powers are established in Chapter I of the Constitution of Australia.

What is the purpose of the upper house?

About the Legislative Council The Legislative Council is one of two houses of the Parliament of Western Australia. Often known as the upper house, it is independent from the Legislative Assembly but shares the work of legislating and scrutinising government performance and expenditure.

Who does the Rajya Sabha represent?

The Rajya Sabha should consist of not more than 250 members – 238 members representing the States and Union Territories, and 12 members nominated by the President.

How does one become a US Congressman?

Article I, Section 2 of the Constitution sets three qualifications for representatives. Each representative must: (1) be at least twenty-five years old; (2) have been a citizen of the United States for the past seven years; and (3) be (at the time of the election) an inhabitant of the state they represent.

How is Congress made up?

Established by Article I of the Constitution, the Legislative Branch consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate, which together form the United States Congress. … The House of Representatives is made up of 435 elected members, divided among the 50 states in proportion to their total population.

Why is Rajya Sabha needed?

In the Indian federal structure, the Rajya Sabha is a representative of the States in the Union legislature (hence the name, Council of States). For this reason, the Rajya Sabha has powers that protect the rights of States against the Union.

What are the duties of Rajya Sabha?

Broad responsibilities of the members of parliament of Rajya Sabha are:Legislative responsibility: To pass Laws of India in the Rajya Sabha.Oversight responsibility: To ensure that the executive (i.e. government) performs its duties satisfactorily.More items…

Which branch can declare war?

The Constitution grants Congress the sole power to declare war.

What does the Upper House do Australia?

The Senate is one of the two houses of the Australian Federal Parliament. It shares the power to make laws with the other House of Parliament, the House of Representatives. … The Senate is elected by proportional representation, so that its composition closely reflects the voting pattern of the electors.

What is the difference between Upper House and Lower House?

The upper house is called the Senate, and the lower house is called the House of Representatives. Men and women who belong to the House of Representatives are called representatives. They may also be called congressmen or congresswomen. The number of senators in Congress is spelled out in the Constitution.

Is Congress and the House the same?

Congress is divided into two institutions: the House of Representatives and the Senate. The two houses of Congress have equal but unique roles in the federal government. … Every state has an equal voice in the Senate, while representation in the House of Representatives is based on the size of each state’s population.

Why is the Lok Sabha the more important of the two houses?

Lok sabha is the most important houses of two houses. 1. Because most of its members are elected. … Every bill usually first passes through lok sabha.

Why do we need two houses in Parliament?

Parliament is the highest forum of discussion and debate on public issues and national policy in any country. Parliament has the right to seek information on any matter. Both the houses need to pass any ordinary law. A bill can become a law only after both the houses pass it.

What is the upper house and lower house in Australia?

The Senate is the upper house of the bicameral Parliament of Australia, the lower house being the House of Representatives.